<p>In a bid to offset diminishing revenues from gas taxes caused by the increasing popularity of electric vehicles (EVs), Texas Governor Greg Abbott (R) has signed into law Senate Bill 505 (SB505) which raises the annual vehicle registration fee on EVs by $200 in a move to ensure that all drivers contribute fairly to the maintenance and improvement of Texas' transportation infrastructure.</p>


<p>A South Texas Republican Congresswoman who flipped her district in a June special election has been defeated by a three-term Democratic Congressman, ending her political career in Washington, DC just five months after it began.</p>

<p>Mayra Flores was elected in June to finish the term of veteran Democratic Congressman Filemon Vela, who left office to become a lobbyist. Vela was serving his fifth two-year term in Congress when he resigned in March 2022.</p>